Looking for ideas to redo the interior

The forum for all of your technical questions on your classic FIAT autos
Wounddo
Last Name: Miller
First Name: Michael

Looking for ideas to redo the interior

Post by Wounddo » Mon Apr 03, 2017 7:32 am

I am a newbie with a 1978 Fiat 2000 that runs great, has a good exterior ( a few hairline cracks int he bondo) but the interior is beaten. The passenger and rear seats are still intact but really faded. I am looking for pictures of interesting ideas for interiors. I have read about a company called Caribou but also figure some of you have had your own ideas to really dress up the interiors. I have the standard wood instrument panel in OK shape and of course, the cracked dash top with the vents covered with the velcor cover but am looking to do something classy to it. Also, what kinds of carpeting are people using as what I pulled out of mine is yellow and faded and brittle.
friedman
mille club
Last Name:

Re: Looking for ideas to redo the interior

Post by friedman » Mon Apr 03, 2017 12:25 pm

In my mind a classy spider interior is mostly stock. Add a nice steering wheel and maybe the early five instrument gauge panel. Black or burgundy interiors are nice, tan is not (my opinion). Later spider wood inserts look very cheap. Stock seats actually look very nice when refoamed and soft vinyl is used.

By the way, my spiders never had classy interiors, I'm partial to the "I'm headed to a track day" look.
Carl in Virginia
80 spider
86 Bertone
77 X1/9
cyber104
mille club
Last Name:

Post by cyber104 » Mon Apr 03, 2017 12:41 pm

It's hard to tell you what might look good because you would probably want to just go with "period correct"

Since the "Spider 2000" didn't come out until 1979 it might be a good idea to post a picture of what you have.

1978 would have been an 1800.
Chris
1982 Fiat Spider
Davidson, NC (formerly from Newark, DE)
rridge
tremila club
Last Name: ridge
First Name: richard

Post by rridge » Mon Apr 03, 2017 1:38 pm